top of page

Storslet to Øksfjord

Over the past few days I have had limited wifi and that's why I haven't been able to post on the blog daily. I think that starting in the next little bit my access to wifi or internet will be more restricted than what it's been so far, but I'll keep you updated when I can! In the past three days we have had some huge hills that have definitely been very exhausting. We are in almost as north as you can go in Norway and as we are travelling often by the coast and traversing through islands there are often hills and little mountain ranges we have to cross. Hopefully it flattens out a bit before Finland. I have been taking hundreds of photos the past few days and I am spending a lot of my time editing through those. Right now I am on a ferry heading towards Tromsø. We rode to Øksfjord from Burfjord today which was about a 50km bike. From there we had some lunch and then we waited for the ferry. Throughout the entire day we saw tons and tons of reindeer. I got some good photos and so did dad. Although we saw them up close quite a few times, it was tough to get the camera out in time to get a good shot. the photo I put with this post was one that I took as the reindeer were walking towards us down the road. The ferry, which is actually more like a cruise ship as it travels along the coast of Norway, is quite large and it is more of senior friendly tourist ship than just any other ferry. The trip should take about 7 hours but we did have to make a stop in a town called Skjervøy. The views from the ship are amazing and I've been taking quite a few photos. I have been playing my travel guitar a little more recently and I am getting used to the small size and the different sounds and tones that it makes. I am really excited to go to Sommarøy tomorrow as we will be taking a rest day after that. Not only that, but there will be a wood burning connecting sauna and hot tub that is right next to the fjord. The fjords are extremely cold but they are one of the most refreshing things ever after sitting somewhere very hot for a while. My dad will be turning 50 on August 30th and so we will have a party there for him. Anyways, this cruise ship is very relaxing so I'm going to add some more photos to the blog and then watch another movie. Tonight we are staying at Nils-Jørgen's house in Tromsø and we will leave around 10:30am in the morning.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page